It's Important To Understand Illinois DUI Penalties

Your License May Be Revoked

A DUI conviction in Illinois will result in serious penalties, which can include jail time, fines and a damaging criminal record. Repeat offenders will be subject to more severe penalties. At Hubeny & Zaba, LLC, in Westmont, our DUI and criminal attorneys are dedicated to protecting the rights of our clients facing serious DUI charges. We will take an informed and strategic approach to minimize penalties in your case. Illinois DUI penalties may include the following:

First Offense

A first offense is a class A misdemeanor and can result in penalties such as court supervision of up to two years, fines of $0-$2,500, and the costs of court and alcohol education classes. If your Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) is greater than .16, you will also face a mandatory of 100 hours of community service and a mandatory minimum fine of $500.

Second Offense

A second-time offense is also a class A misdemeanor and a conviction will result in revocation of driving privileges, mandatory five days in jail or 240 hours of community service. You may also be fined up to $2,500 and be liable for court costs and alcohol education classes. If your BAC is greater than .16, you could face an additional two days in jail apart from the above penalties and a mandatory minimum fine of $1,250.

Third Offense

A third offense is a class 2 felony and a conviction will result in three to seven years of imprisonment or probation of up to 48 months, and a mandatory minimum of 10 days in jail or 480 hours of community service. You could also face fines of up to $25,000 and court costs. If your BAC was greater than .16, you will be forced to serve a mandatory 90 days in jail and receive a mandatory minimum fine of $25,000.

Fourth, Fifth And Sixth Offenses

Four, five- and six-time offenders will be charged with a felony and will not have opportunity for probation. A jail sentence will range between three and 30 years. You could be fined up to $25,000 and be subject to court costs. You will also be liable for a mandatory minimum fine of $5,000 if your BAC was over .16. Six-time offenders will face a class X felony and six to 30 years imprisonment.

DUI Death

If your drunk driving offense resulted in the death of another, you will be charged with a class 2 felony and face minimum probation or three to 14 years in prison for one death. If two or more persons lost their lives, you will face minimum probation or six to 28 years in prison. Probation is rarely granted in these cases.

In every case, there are unique circumstances that can work in your favor or against you. For example, if you are arrested for a DUI in a school zone or while having a passenger in the car under 16 years of age, penalties will be much stiffer. Our DUI attorneys have the experience and knowledge to assist you in all aspects of your DUI case, and will work hard to fight your arrest or mitigate damages and penalties.

Contact Us For A Free Consultation And License Revocation Defense

Call 630-457-1047 or contact us by e-mail to arrange a free consultation directly with our Westmont and Downers Grove license suspension lawyers.